MYSTERY

Secret Service

Atlantic Monthly. Nov. 2019. 368p. ISBN 9780802148032. $26; ebk. ISBN 9780802148254. THRILLER
COPY ISBN
Bradby (The White Russian) uses current-day political fears to great effect in this new spy thriller. Kate Henderson, an M16 senior intelligence officer, has been tipped off to a meeting of powerful Russians, oligarchs, and governmental power brokers on a Russian oligarch’s yacht. She obtains audio that indicates the Russians are working to infiltrate the highest levels of British government and place a pro-Putin prime minister in office. Assisting in the plot is a treasonous English asset code-named “Viper.” Though her immediate boss is convinced this is just another red herring from the Russians, Kate is given the go-ahead to investigate. Now she and her team are in a race against time to find Viper and prevent the Russians from inserting their “man” at the top.
VERDICT Bradby’s journalistic and screenwriting background is fully evident, as the story is well researched, compellingly complicated, and perfectly paced. Fans of Stella Rimington and Olen Steinhauer will love this offering. [See Prepub Alert, 5/13/19.]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.