BIOGRAPHY

Rosa Parks: In Her Own Words

Univ. of Georgia. Jan. 2020. 96p. ISBN 9780820356921. pap. $16.95. BIOG
COPY ISBN
Historian Reyburn offers a unique look at the life of African American civil rights activist Rosa Parks by examining her personal documents, letters, and photographs. Published in association with the Library of Congress and a companion to the exhibit of the same name, this biography offers an intimate glimpse of a woman whose notoriety and outspokenness belied her humility, and who would likely have balked at being labeled an “icon.” The work amply illustrates her lifelong commitment to equality and the heavy toll that such a deeply rooted commitment takes. The slim volume features a timeline and reproductions of primary source material from Parks’s collection, including photographs and documents. The immediacy of these writings—sometimes scrawled neatly on envelopes and assorted household items—is striking; Parks candidly reflects on her personal struggles and on her work in the civil rights movement, in which she remained an active participant until her death at age 92.
VERDICT Narrated in simple prose, this is concise yet moving tribute spotlights an inspiring progressive leader and demonstrates how the historical record should be studied. For readers of African American history of all ages.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month