ROMANCE

Reflected in You: A Crossfire Novel

Berkley: Penguin Group (USA). Oct. 2012. 338p. ISBN 9780425263914. pap. $15; eISBN 9781101604915. EROTIC ROMANCE
COPY ISBN
Gideon and Eva have troubled pasts, but in each other's arms (and beds and showers and cars) everything melts away save for the feeling of their bodies. Yet Eva still thinks that Gideon is hiding a part of himself away, and the more she tries to get him to open up, the more she discovers things that Gideon cannot—or will not—explain to her. As Gideon controls more and more of her everyday activities, Eva begins to doubt whether their relationship is more than just sex. And with frequent pictures appearing of Gideon and his ex-fiancée together, those doubts grow exponentially. No matter how much Eva wants his skin on hers, it is his heart and mind that she craves. If Gideon can't move beyond the scars of his past, the couple will never have a future. When tragedy strikes, Eva realizes her past is catching up with her, too.
VERDICT The second installment in the "Crossfire" series (after Bared to You) is a tale of damaged, star-crossed lovers and their power dynamics. While Eva and Gideon's dysfunctional relationship provides some cringe-worthy moments of dialog, the steamy sex scenes and intriguing plot twists will have readers clamoring for more. Power players, family feuds, and strong wills recall the best soap operas—with a lot more skin and sex during the daytime. With little exposition leading into this story, readers should pick up the series in order. Fans of Jackie Collins, Judith Krantz, and, of course, E.L. James will love this.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.