ROMANCE

Promised

Shadow Mountain. (Proper Romance). Feb. 2020. 368p. ISBN 9781629726144. pap. $15.95. HISTORICAL ROMANCE
COPY ISBN
DEBUT Miss Margaret Brinton has been duped once by love, and she won’t allow it to happen again. The only sure way to protect her heart is to marry a man she cannot love. When she meets the handsome Mr. Northam at a house party, she immediately sets her sights on him, knowing that the rakish man is exactly as he seems. The charming Northam is nothing like his rude cousin, Lord Williams. Brooding and inscrutable, Williams is against the idea of Margaret marrying Northam, arguing that the match will end in heartbreak. Angry with Lord Williams for interfering with her plans, Margaret returns home only to find that her father has arranged an engagement for her—with Lord Williams. Margaret is certain Williams only wants to stop her from marrying his cousin and does not actually care for her. Fans of Pride & Prejudice will feel a sense of familiarity as the two rival suitors duke it out for Margaret’s affections.
VERDICT Debut author Garriott’s smooth prose and character-driven story will enthrall readers looking for sweet historicals with Austen-esque plots.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month