AUDIO

Playing with Fire

6 CDs. 7 hrs. Brilliance. Oct. 2015. ISBN 9781501248047. $36.99. digital download. F
COPY ISBN
Julia Ansdell is a brilliant violinist and mom to a toddler she thinks is trying to kill her. After returning from Italy with sheet music for a rare and poignant waltz, "Incendio," dangerous "accidents" have plagued her. Julia's husband thinks she's crazy, but she thinks the waltz has cast a spell on her child. The story of its composer, an abducted Italian Jew who was made to perform at a Nazi concentration camp, is as sad and haunting as the piece he wrote. Gerritsen, perhaps best known for her "Rizzoli and Isles" series, does something different here, blending a strong historical narrative with a contemporary suspense plot. The result is compelling, and the two stories weave together seamlessly. Narrators Julia Whelan and Will Damron are understated in their performances, keeping the focus on the plot. The audio production contains well-placed and well-executed performances of "Incendio," a true bonus.
VERDICT Highly recommended for fans of Karin Slaughter, Tana French, Lisa Gardner, and similar authors. ["The historical details and subtle twists take this nicely paced novel out of the realm of an ordinary thriller": LJ 8/15 review of the Ballantine hc.]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.