MYSTERY

Paw of the Jungle

St. Martin’s. (Paw Enforcement, Bk. 8). Nov. 2019. 368p. ISBN 9781250197375. pap. $7.99; ebk. ISBN 9781250197382. M
COPY ISBN
Officer Megan Luz and her K–9 partner, Brigit, take a break at the Fort Worth Zoo only to become involved in a case of two missing macaws. In between the routine police work of issuing traffic citations, catching a shoplifter, and recovering a number of missing rings, more zoo animals (including a monkey and a springbok) also disappear. When the springbok is killed at a game ranch and a rare black rhino is stolen from the zoo, the hunt for the thief turns urgent. Clues seem to point to an ex-con working as a zoo custodian. The story is told in alternating voices—Megan’s, Brigit’s, and the poacher’s, which allows readers to put many pieces of the mystery together before the detectives do, but without ruining the story. Add a dash of romance for a complete winner.
VERDICT While part of a series, this cozy can be read as a stand-alone and will be appreciated by animal lovers. Recommended for readers of Spencer Quinn’s “Chet and Bernie” books.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.