FICTION

Out of Bounds: A Karen Pirie Novel

Atlantic Monthly. Dec. 2016. 432p. ISBN 9780802125743. $25. F
COPY ISBN
DCI Karen Pirie's 22-year-old cold case gets a new rush of energy when 17-year-old Ross Garvie's DNA is a familial hit after he is left comatose in a stolen car crash. Trying to find Garvie's father, however, involves dealing with a new set of red tape. A leak to the media within the force means that Pirie must work quickly. Recently divorced social worker Giorsal Kennedy trades Pirie information on how the bureaucratic system works in these cases in exchange for an outing where the two can catch up. Pirie, mourning the loss of Phil, sleeplessly walks the town at night and decides to find a way to help a group of local Syrian refugees. Meanwhile, DI Alan Noble investigates the suicide of Gabriel Abbott, believing it's an open-and-shut case, but something about it piques Pirie's interest. Not that she has any business investigating a case that isn't cold. And Simon Lees, the assistant chief constable, would love a reason to remove Pirie and her disregard of his authority.
VERDICT McDermid delivers a fun and exciting police procedural for fans of Stephen Booth and Anne Perry in this fourth series installment (after The Skeleton Road). [See Prepub Alert, 6/13/16; library marketing]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?