FICTION

Otherwise Engaged

Skyhorse. Jan. 2019. 304p.ISBN 9781510732391. $24.99; ebk. ISBN 9781510732421. F
COPY ISBN
When Molly's soon-to-be fiancé Gabe finishes his novel, it's a bit of a shock. Even more surprising is the titular character of the novel who happens to be based on his ex-girlfriend, Talia. In their relationship, Molly is always the steadfast partner willing to support Gabe in his writing. With the novel finished, their lives change drastically as Gabe quickly gets a book deal and some unexpected publicity puts the work's word-of-mouth buzz off the charts. Then it seems that Molly and Gabe are on opposite trajectories as Gabe starts to realize his wildest dreams, and Molly becomes more unhinged. When Molly finally hits rock bottom, she's faced with rebuilding parts of her life she thought were rock solid before Gabe's novel was published.
VERDICT Palmer (Pretty in Ink) hits the right tone that is both funny and poignant as she documents Molly's downturn from together fiancée to crazy ex-girlfriend. Perfect for fans of Emily Giffin and Elin Hilderbrand.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.