MYSTERY

Once You Go This Far

Minotaur: St. Martin’s. (Roxane Weary, Bk. 4). Jul. 2020. 320p. ISBN 9781250309372. $26.99.; ;. M
COPY ISBN
In her fourth outing (after The Stories You Tell), Columbus private investigator Roxane Weary was to meet her brother, Andrew, early one morning for a nature hike. Instead, she runs into Rebecca Newsome, an experienced hiker who falls to her death on the trail. Everyone blames Rebecca’s dog for the accident, until her daughter, Maggie, shows up at Roxane’s office to hire her to investigate. Maggie suspects her mother’s ex-husband had something to do with her death. He’s a former cop, and he might be a jerk, but Roxane finds no evidence linking him to her death. She follows a trail from Toledo to Detroit to Windsor, Canada, to discover how a casino, a private club, and an evangelical home church connect to Rebecca. Roxane finds it easier to solve the case than to deal with her own personal issues.
VERDICT This latest P.I. novel is an intricately plotted tale by the Shamus Award–winning author of What You Want To See. The mystery with a flawed protagonist who delves into a case involving controversial subjects such as spousal abuse and a cultish church will appeal to readers of Sara Paretsky and Tracy Clark. [See Prepub Alert, 1/7/20.]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?