ROMANCE

My Highland Rogue

Avon. (Highland Fling, Bk. 1). Aug. 2020. 384p. ISBN 9780063019928. pap. $7.99. ;. HISTORICAL ROMANCE
COPY ISBN
A crumbling estate, long-lost family secrets, and forbidden love make Ranney’s latest (“All for Love” series) an emotionally charged reading experience. Lady Jennifer Adaire has loved Gordon McDonnell ever since she can remember, but as the son of her family’s gardener, his low birth means they could never marry. Five years earlier, Gordon abandoned Adaire Hall without a word, leaving Jennifer heartbroken. Now he’s back to attend to his dying father, and their romance reignites when they discover they’ve never stopped loving each other. Just when it seems like everything is going to be wrapped up in a neat happily ever after, a shocking secret from the past destroys Jennifer and Gordon’s chance at marriage. As the action moves from London to Edinburgh to the remote Scottish Highlands, new revelations keep readers guessing as to what will happen next, and how the characters will ever overcome the insurmountable obstacles consistently being thrown at them.
VERDICT With mountains of family drama, coupled with unexpected twists and turns, this enchanting love story will appeal to fans of Kate Morton’s or Lauren Willig’s historical romances. [Note: Ranney passed away this past June while writing this series. She was 70. My Highland Rogue would have been her 37th historical romance published with Avon.—Ed.]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?