FICTION

Musser, Elizabeth. Promised Land

Bethany House. Nov. 2020. 384p. ISBN 9780764237850. $29.99; pap. ISBN 9780764234453. $15.99. CF
COPY ISBN
Abbie is a type A perfectionist who has worked hard to build a good life for her husband and two sons. In the space of a few pages, however, her husband says he wants a separation and both of her boys leave the nest. Reeling from all the changes, Abbie consults a spiritual adviser and decides to do something completely out of character—hike the Camino pilgrimage trail in France. A motley cast of characters, all with their own problems, join her for the physical challenge that winds up stripping away distractions and revealing damaged souls. Told from many diverse points of view, including an Iranian refugee reliving a much darker trek, Musser’s (Waiting for Peter) narrative takes readers for a journey both through the rugged French countryside and through the jagged edges of the human psyche.
VERDICT There is a lot going on in this book, including an unusual plot and strong characterization. Faith elements are interwoven in a subtle but clear way. Fans of Michele Phoenix and Lauren K. Denton will appreciate this distinctive story of the human journey.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?