COOKING & FOOD

Milk Street: The New Rules; Recipes That Will Change the Way You Cook

Voracious. Oct. 2019. 336p. photos. index. ISBN 9780316423052. $35; ebk. ISBN 9780316423045. COOKING
COPY ISBN
While Kimball is no longer at Cook’s Illustrated, his new cooking school and media company, Milk Street, takes a similar approach of testing and relentless experimentation to create new and improved recipes. The results are codified into 75 “rules” or tips applied throughout the book that focus on the savory, with chapters on vegetables, beans/grains, noodles/bread, eggs, seafood, chicken, pork, and beef. International flavors predominate, but most ingredients are readily available. Each recipe has a brief introduction and a couple of key tips to help in mastering similar preparations. Instructions are clearly detailed and illustrated with large photos of each dish. Brief sections interspersed among the recipes cover essential spices and the differences between various types of chili peppers.
VERDICT Highly recommended for fans of Kimball and Cook’s Illustrated, with delicious recipes and sound techniques to improve and spice up everyday cooking routines.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month