SFF

Midnight Marked

NAL. (Chicagoland Vampires, Bk. 12). Mar. 2016. 384p. ISBN 9780451472335. pap. $15; ebk. ISBN 9780698180727. FANTASY
COPY ISBN
Merit has been a vampire for over a year, and serving as sentinel to master vampire (and boyfriend) Ethan has meant confronting a lot of enemies along the way. Having just overcome their latest adversary, Adrien Reed, Merit, Ethan, and her friends hope to enjoy a baseball game at Wrigley Field. Unfortunately, Reed is determined to destroy Cadogan House, the second-oldest vampire dwelling in Chicago, and take over the Windy City, and he is using other supernaturals to do it. Merit knows how to tackle opponents, but what happens when some of those are her own kind? Taking on this battle will test her limits and reveal a truth that can be traced to her beginnings as a vampire.
VERDICT Neill (Dark Debt) keeps the series fresh with its fast pace and modern heroine. Merit shines with a sharp mind and strength that will appeal to fans of Ilona Andrews's "Kate Daniels" and Faith Hunter's "Jane Yellowrock" urban fantasies.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?