FICTION

Long Black Veil

Crown. Apr. 2017. 304p. ISBN 9780451496324. $25; ebk. ISBN 9780451496348. F
COPY ISBN
Best-selling memoirist (She's Not There) and novelist (Getting In) Boylan's latest work begins in 1980. A party of eight adventurous people, six of them friends united by a wedding the evening before, decide to explore Philadelphia's abandoned Eastern State Penitentiary. The visit starts off as a lark, but by the time the evening ends one person is missing and a mystery has been born—one that will follow the surviving friends through the next 35 years. The story line explores both the fallout from the crime and the impact on one survivor specifically. Judith Carrigan may hold the key to unraveling the puzzle and saving her friend Jon Casey, who has been accused of murder—but the price for her help could be the new life she has created for herself.
VERDICT Boylan's twisty and entertaining thriller takes a hard look at questions of identity, love, and trust. Recommended for fans of Megan Abbott and Donna Tartt. [See Prepub Alert, 10/31/16.]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month