AUDIO

Lab Rats: How Silicon Valley Made Work Miserable for the Rest of Us

8 CDs. Hachette Audio. Oct. 2018. 8:59 hrs. ISBN 9781549142574. $30. digital download. BUS
COPY ISBN
Lyons (Disrupted: My Misadventures in the Start-Up Bubble) reveals his view of how the worst of the mercenary tech culture has resulted in the multi-trillion-dollar swindle of American workers in virtually every industry. Lyons's perspective is that today's new work culture celebrates overwork and stress and is led by people who care only about making money and venture capitalists and amoral investors who are solely focused on flipping businesses to make a quick buck. His primary concern is the effect on American workers of this empathy-impaired focus. Lyons's four factors that create worker unhappiness include money (low wages and raided pension funds), job insecurity (rapid turnover and capricious terminations), constant change (demeaning and pointless workshops and classes), and dehumanization (open office plans, no privacy). In the author's view, today's new tech-championed tools and models have shattered the once viable social contract between workers and management. While Lyons's findings will likely appeal to workers, his primary target audience includes leaders who buy into the latest fads for innovation and team building. Thankfully, Lyons closes with optimism about responsible business leaders who are building worker-friendly, inclusive, and diverse companies; college business courses that emphasize social responsibility; and socially conscious investment by well-intentioned rich people. The author's clearly enunciated, steady paced reading nicely highlights this material.
VERDICT Essential for all libraries supporting business and management curricula. This work will appeal to fans of John Micklethwait and Adrian Wooldridge's The Witch Doctors, David Craig's Rip-off!, and Matthew Stewart's The Management Myth. ["A must-read for tech entrepreneurs and anyone interested in the shifting dynamics of workplace culture": LJ 10/15/18 review of the Hachette hc.]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.