REVIEWS+

Here Is Where I Walk: Episodes from a Life in the Forest

Univ. of Nevada. Apr. 2019. 200p. illus. ISBN 9781948908078. pap. $17.95; ebk. ISBN 9781948908085. NAT HIST
COPY ISBN
Roberts (writing, California Coll. of the Arts; The Entire Earth and Sky) details the natural and social history of the Presidio of San Francisco; once a military outpost, now a national park. The author interweaves historical anecdotes with her decade-long observations of changing landscapes: plants, animals, and people. She also features notebook entries written throughout her life as a student, artist, teacher, journalist, and mother. Roberts explores territory as close as the local high-priced grocery store and as remote as Antarctica. When she sits in Henry David Thoreau's cabin in Walden Pond or describes how California botanist Alice Eastwood once led British naturalist Alfred Russel Wallace on a hike in the Rockies, she puts artists, writers, and scientists in conversation with one another and herself.
VERDICT Roberts expertly crafts a narrative both of the places she's traveled and the events that have shaped her own emotional terrain. Her thoughtful wanderings will appeal to fans of Helen MacDonald's H Is for Hawk, Peter Wohlleben's Hidden Life of Trees, and Hope Jahren's Lab Girl.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.