FICTION

Gone Missing

. 978-1-42722-136-0. 39.95.
COPY ISBN
In Castillo’s fifth entry in her “Amish Country” series featuring police chief Kate Burkholder, Kate investigates the disappearance of several young Amish women, all of whom are going through rumspringa, a time when youth may enjoy experiences outside the strict rules of Amish life prior to baptism. The trail leads to an Ohio farm possessing a terrible secret, which will put Kate in danger and her life on the line. She relies on her skills as an investigator and background as an Amish woman who abandoned that existence to solve the case. The thrilling story holds the listener’s interest while offering a glimpse into the closed world of the Plain People. Reader Kathleen McInerney does an excellent job in presenting this gripping tale.
VERDICT This mystery is recommended for Castillo’s fans and those interested in similar stories in this setting. [“This fast-paced thrill ride through the always fascinating Amish country of Ohio should appeal to readers of Karin Slaughter, Betty Webb, and Lisa Jackson. Devotees of this series won’t want to miss it,” read the review of the New York Times best-selling Minotaur: St. Martin’s hc, LJ Xpress Reviews, 6/22/12.—Ed.]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.