ROMANCE

Get a Life, Chloe Brown

Avon. (Brown Sisters, Bk. 1). Nov. 2019. 384p. ISBN 9780062941206. pap. $15.99; ebk. ISBN 9780062941220. CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE
COPY ISBN
After a scary incident causes Chloe Brown’s life to flash before her eyes, she’s relieved but also angry that there wasn’t much worth remembering. Spurred into action, the chronically ill computer programmer devises a plan to move forward. Getting out on her own is first on the list, a step that puts her in the path of grumpy artist Redford “Red” Morgan. Red isn’t keen on Chloe, assuming she couldn’t possibly appreciate his painting career, his tattoos, and his motorcycle. But then a cute little grey cat brings the two eye to eye, and sparks fly. Red just might be the perfect person to encourage Chloe to confront her challenges, and Chloe the one to help Red find his own self-worth again.
VERDICT This stunning romance tackles important topics, such as living with disability and surviving emotional abuse, without ever getting bogged down in despair. Hibbert’s prose sparkles, and the heat is high, making this new series launch, the author’s first with a mainstream publisher, perfect for fans of Tessa Bailey’s “Hot & Hammered” series or Helen Hoang’s The Kiss Quotient. Hibbert’s extensive self-published backlist, especially the “Ravenswood” series, can fill demand while readers wait for her next “Brown Sisters” book.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.