SPIRITUALITY & RELIGION

For All Who Hunger: Searching for Communion in a Shattered World

Convergent. May 2020. 256p. ISBN 9780593135570. $25. REL
COPY ISBN
Scott, a Lutheran pastor and founder of the Brooklyn-based congregation St. Lydia’s Dinner Church, explores the power of communal worship meals in this memoir. At St. Lydia’s, she began a “dinner church” without funding or a congregation. During those first eight years, the struggles and lessons the parishioners learn transformed the author herself. In her words, “this is a story about how bread, broken and passed from hand to hand, rescued me from my aloneness.” Throughout, Scott explores vignettes of real life shared over meals that bring hope, healing, and most of all, connectedness in a fractured world, as St. Lydia’s itself becomes a place fighting first for survival and then for social justice. Scott finishes the book recounting her departure from St. Lydia’s Brooklyn “to travel an unknown path” that includes the memories and friendships formed over broken bread.
VERDICT Recommended for readers who enjoy Nadia Bolz-Weber, Anne Lamott, or Brian McClaren. A thought-provoking and inspiring memoir that reflects real-life frustrations and fears, while hope ultimately prevails in the end.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month

Like this premium article? Subscribe to LJ and get all of our premium content at your fingertips for 12 months.