Felicity Carrol and the Murderous Menace

Crooked Lane. (Felicity Carrol, Bk. 2). Feb. 2020. 336p. ISBN 9781643852898. $26.99. M
In the second book in the series (after Felicity Carrol and the Perilous Pursuit), Felicity, an educated, wealthy young British woman, leaves London in 1889 to pursue a mystery in the Wild West. Her friend, Inspector Jackson Davies, has made himself ill while trying unsuccessfully to solve the case of Jack the Ripper. When he reads an article about a prostitute’s murder in Montana that closely resembles Jack’s victims, Felicity promises Davies that she will travel to Montana and solve the case. She purchases a house in the mining town of Placer and brings her forensic equipment as well her friend and maid, Helen Wilkins. Felicity tries to pass herself off as an aspiring mystery writer intrigued by the recent murder but she doesn’t fool Sheriff Tom Pike for long. Soon she is working alongside him as the body count starts climbing in Montana—just as it did in London.
VERDICT Because of the change in setting, most of the characters from the previous book do not appear. Felicity retains her feisty spirit and wit and once again has to battle for acceptance and credibility in a male-dominated society. Readers will look forward to her next adventure.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month