MYSTERY

Fatal Ally

Severn House. Sept. 2019. 240p. ISBN 9780727889522. $28.99; ebk. ISBN 9781448302314. THRILLER
COPY ISBN
A former British Intelligence asset, Moscow-based Arkady Mazurin wants to defect to the West. His contact in MI6 hasn’t heard from him in five years. Nevertheless, he claims he has information about a high-ranking Russian politician the Americans and the Brits will want. MI6 agent Margaret “Margo” Lane carefully devises a plan to extricate Mazurin from Russia, but the operation fails. Unbeknown to MI6, Mazurin had been betrayed by an upper-echelon American government official who is working with a Russian delegate to save his girlfriend—a spy who was caught in Syria. Margo must deliver a message to the United States, and her mission takes her to Russia, Syria, and into the depths of her conscience.
VERDICT Former Moscow correspondent for the BBC and award-winning author Sebastian (Exit Berlin; Saviour’s Gate) delivers a gripping spy thriller. Fans of Clive Cussler, Tom Clancy, Charles Cumming, and John LeCarré will enjoy the well-developed characters and riveting twists that keep the pages turning.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.