MYSTERY

Fatal Ally

Severn House. Sept. 2019. 240p. ISBN 9780727889522. $28.99; ebk. ISBN 9781448302314. THRILLER
COPY ISBN
A former British Intelligence asset, Moscow-based Arkady Mazurin wants to defect to the West. His contact in MI6 hasn’t heard from him in five years. Nevertheless, he claims he has information about a high-ranking Russian politician the Americans and the Brits will want. MI6 agent Margaret “Margo” Lane carefully devises a plan to extricate Mazurin from Russia, but the operation fails. Unbeknown to MI6, Mazurin had been betrayed by an upper-echelon American government official who is working with a Russian delegate to save his girlfriend—a spy who was caught in Syria. Margo must deliver a message to the United States, and her mission takes her to Russia, Syria, and into the depths of her conscience.
VERDICT Former Moscow correspondent for the BBC and award-winning author Sebastian (Exit Berlin; Saviour’s Gate) delivers a gripping spy thriller. Fans of Clive Cussler, Tom Clancy, Charles Cumming, and John LeCarré will enjoy the well-developed characters and riveting twists that keep the pages turning.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.