FICTION

Facing the Dawn

Revell. Mar. 2021. 320p. ISBN 9780800739690. $29.99; pap. ISBN 9780800737290. $15.99. CF
COPY ISBN
Mara Jacobs knows her name means “bitter,” and she certainly feels that way as her husband serves a nonprofit in Uganda, leaving her working double shifts and struggling with their wayward teenagers on her own. Mara also means “strong,” and she has no idea how much she’ll need that namesake as a series of calamities rock the already beleaguered Jacobs family. Struggling under the misconception that to ask for help is a sign of weakness, Mara is befriended by a cop–turned–homeless advocate and a childhood friend with regrets of her own. As the band of flawed humans come together, the cracks in Mara’s family and in her heart begin to heal.
VERDICT Ruchti (As Waters Gone By) has a gift for taking characters through their grief and lifting them to a place higher than themselves. Fans of Erin Bartels and Elizabeth Musser will appreciate the characters’ journey to faith that never ventures into the clichéd. The message of hope in a situation that seems hopeless is especially needed now.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?