HORROR

Dracula’s Child

Titan. May 2020. 576p. ISBN 9781789093391. pap. $14.95. HORROR
COPY ISBN
What happened after Jonathan and Mina Harker defeated Dracula in Bram Stoker’s seminal vampire novel? Barnes (The Somnambulist, The Domino Men) ponders this question within an intriguing narrative framework: papers released by the Harker’s son, Quincey, on the eve of World War I. Following the epistolary format of the original, this novel is told through “found” journals, clippings, and letters written by the parties involved when a dark and troubling series of events unfold during Quincey’s 13th year. It becomes clear that the vampire everyone thought was killed was merely held at bay. His return comes at a steep price for the Harker family and the world. Fans of vampire fiction will enjoy the compelling, fast-paced plot, and atmosphere of increasing dread.
VERDICT This novel is nestled perfectly within the popular pantheon of stories that use the frame and style of Stoker’s classic to create original and entertaining stories that add to the lure and enjoyment of the source material. Hand to readers who liked Steven Hopstaken and Melissa Prusi’s Stoker’s Wilde or Lauren Owen’s The Quick.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month