MYSTERY

Death of a Gigolo

Kensington. (Jaine Austen, Bk. 17). Sept. 2019. 240p. ISBN 9781496708526. $26; ebk. ISBN 9781496708540. M
COPY ISBN
Everything’s going right for freelance writer Jaine Austen, for a change. She’s dating her ex-husband, Dickie, although her cat, Prozac, and her neighbor hate him. She’s hired as cowriter by 60-something heiress Daisy Kincaid, who wants to write a romance. After Daisy’s picture appears in the newspaper, a young man, Tommy LaSalle, shows up, claiming to be the nephew of Daisy’s old companion. Within a day, he has moved into the mansion and taken over everything in Daisy’s life, from her meals to her finances. All of Daisy’s employees and friends detest the man, so it isn’t a surprise when he’s murdered after Daisy announces their engagement. When a coworker tops the suspect list, Jaine turns amateur sleuth. Between dates with her health-conscious ex, outrageous emails from her retired parents in Florida, and attacks by Prozac, Jaine still has time to uncover secrets—and a killer.
VERDICT There’s a solid mystery buried in the over-the-top humor in this sequel to Death of a Neighborhood Scrooge. Fans of Mary Daheim and Tamar Myers will appreciate the comedy.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.