MYSTERY

Death of a Gigolo

Kensington. (Jaine Austen, Bk. 17). Sept. 2019. 240p. ISBN 9781496708526. $26; ebk. ISBN 9781496708540. M
COPY ISBN
Everything’s going right for freelance writer Jaine Austen, for a change. She’s dating her ex-husband, Dickie, although her cat, Prozac, and her neighbor hate him. She’s hired as cowriter by 60-something heiress Daisy Kincaid, who wants to write a romance. After Daisy’s picture appears in the newspaper, a young man, Tommy LaSalle, shows up, claiming to be the nephew of Daisy’s old companion. Within a day, he has moved into the mansion and taken over everything in Daisy’s life, from her meals to her finances. All of Daisy’s employees and friends detest the man, so it isn’t a surprise when he’s murdered after Daisy announces their engagement. When a coworker tops the suspect list, Jaine turns amateur sleuth. Between dates with her health-conscious ex, outrageous emails from her retired parents in Florida, and attacks by Prozac, Jaine still has time to uncover secrets—and a killer.
VERDICT There’s a solid mystery buried in the over-the-top humor in this sequel to Death of a Neighborhood Scrooge. Fans of Mary Daheim and Tamar Myers will appreciate the comedy.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.