MYSTERY

Deadly Cure

Pegasus Crime. Nov. 2017. 336p. ISBN 9781681775524. $25.95; ebk. ISBN 9781681776040. M
COPY ISBN
In 1899 Brooklyn, Dr. Noah Whitestone is accused of prescribing a lethal dose of laudanum to an ailing five-year-old patient by the boy's powerful and politically connected regular doctor. To prove his innocence, Whitestone must investigate and face down the real killer. Along the way, he encounters a muckraking radical editor and soon gets drawn into a grim world of politics and experimental drugs.
VERDICT Goldstone follows his acclaimed debut historical mystery, The Anatomy of Deception, with another vibrant and distinctive forensic page-turner. For fans of Caleb Carr and E.S. Thompson.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month