MYSTERY

Dead to Her

Morrow. Feb. 2020. 400p. ISBN 9780062856821. $27.99. SUSPENSE
COPY ISBN
Marcie Maddox comes from the other side of the tracks, so she knows a good thing when she sees it. Stealing Jason from his first wife and becoming his second wife places Marcie in a rich Savannah social circle. She revels in her role of “sexy young wife,” so when Keisha arrives on the scene as the new spouse of widowed William Radford, the entire social circle is jolted and Marcie is concerned about her status. Directed by Jason to befriend Keisha, Marcie begins to realize that all is not what it seems—and the sparks between Keisha and Jason are hard to miss. The story is well written and, though none of the characters are especially likable, the twists are surprising.
VERDICT A mix of steamy sex, lies, secrets, betrayals, murder, and a dash of voodoo, Pinborough’s latest novel (after Cross Her Heart) will keep readers guessing until the very last chapter. A twisty thriller for fans of Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies, Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl, and Paula Hawkins’s The Girl on the Train. [See Prepub Alert, 7/29/19.]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month