FICTION

Day Four

Little, Brown. Jun. 2015. 352p. ISBN 9780316242943. $26; ebk. ISBN 9780316242967. F
COPY ISBN
OrangeReviewStarLotz's (The Three) new thriller is creepy, memorable, and definitely not a book to bring on your next cruise vacation. The novel opens aboard The Beautiful Dreamer, a cruise ship on a five-day New Year's excursion to the Caribbean. The first days of the trip are uneventful, but an incident on day four leaves the vessel dead in the water and unable to contact the outside world. On board, a cast of characters—an eerily prescient psychic and her assistant, a blogger, a serial rapist, a pair of elderly widows, and various members of the crew—try to cope with this unfortunate turn of events. However, as the situation worsens, passengers must defend themselves against dangers both mundane (a rapidly spreading virus) and otherworldly (ghostly apparitions and strange events).
VERDICT A stranded cruise ship is the perfect setting for all manner of horrors, both real and imagined. As in her earlier book, Lotz incorporates realistic elements into her story that will keep readers engaged and turning the pages until the very end. Fans of Stephen King and Dean Koontz, get ready to set sail.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month