SFF

Dahlia Black

Atria. Aug. 2019. 288p. ISBN 9781501156717. $27; ebk. ISBN 9781501156731. SF
COPY ISBN
This novel of first contact is packaged as a serious nonfiction account of events that begin in the year 2023, when astronomer Dahlia Mitchell first intercepts a signal from deep space known as the Pulse. With copious footnotes and interview transcripts, it describes the events of the Pulse and how that signal came to alter the very nature of humanity. From the start, Thomas (The Clarity) lets readers know that the Pulse brought genetic changes that result in global disaster. He builds a sense of dread by walking us through the events as they occur, mostly via the lens of the politicians whose job it was to spin tales to the public, alongside journal entries from Dahlia Mitchell, one of the first to experience the transformative effects of the Pulse.
VERDICT The documentary approach causes some emotional distance, and the sheer amount of footnotes slows reader engagement, but there is plenty of narrative tension to keep the pages turning. Recommended for fans of Sylvain Neuvel’s Sleeping Giants or Max Brooks’s World War Z.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.