ROMANCE

Code of Conduct

Smartypants Romance. (Cipher Security, Bk. 1). Oct. 2019. 408p. ISBN 9781949202038. pap. $14.99; ebk. ISBN 9781949202021. CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE
COPY ISBN
PI Shane has a passion for chasing cheaters, most likely owing to a painful past breakup. She is also a below-the-knee amputee, which doesn’t affect her investigations. Rather, a wide selection of prosthetics provides options in different, dangerous situations. When her path collides with Gabriel, a black British soldier–turned–investigator, there’s an instant attraction. Gabriel is handsome with a droll sense of humor. The banter between the two is playful and tantalizing, but each grapple with inner demons and trust issues. As they work together to bring down a bad guy and find his wife and a missing half-million dollars, their walls slowly come down.
VERDICT In a pulse-pounding story featuring a captivating interracial couple paired with a riveting adventure, this strong series launch from White (An Urchin of Means) casts equally original and intriguing supporting characters, who will hopefully headline future entries. A thrill for readers of Sandra Brown or Kristen Ashley.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.