MYSTERY

City of Windows

Minotaur: St. Martin’s. Aug. 2019. 400p. ISBN 9781250293947. $26.99; ebk. ISBN 9781250293954. THRILLER
COPY ISBN
Pobi (American Woman; Bloodman) launches a new series featuring retired FBI agent, astrophysicist, and double amputee Dr. Lucas Page, who is summoned back to the FBI after a sniper kills his former partner. Frustration mounts as the killings continue and the politicians and bureaucrats want to implicate a radical Islamic sympathizer despite evidence to the contrary. Page, with his unique ability to see things using numbers and patterns, takes the investigation in a different direction, finding a connection among the victims to home in on a killer seeking revenge. This title has all that a good thriller/police procedural should: a ruthless villain always a step ahead of a gruff and often unlikable hero, both of whom have seemingly preternatural abilities; internal agency squabbles; a snowstorm that hampers the investigation; and plenty of twists and turns in the plot. Readers get just enough background on Page’s upbringing and early career to leave open the possibility that the next book in the series will be a prequel.
VERDICT A fast-paced, topical thriller that checks the boxes in the genre, perhaps a little automatically. Will appeal to fans of John Sandford, Lee Child, and Brian Freeman. [See Prepub Alert, 2/11/19.]
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?