HISTORY

Chicago’s Great Fire: The Destruction and Resurrection of an Iconic American City

Atlantic Monthly. Oct. 2020. 400p. ISBN 9780802148100. $28. HIST
COPY ISBN
Historian Smith (emeritus, history, Northwestern Univ; The Plan of Chicago) fully researches and examines the Great Chicago Fire, which spanned three days in October 1871. Surprisingly, this is the first popular history book on the subject of the fire. Smith’s well-written narrative not only examines the fire itself, but also the rise of the city of Chicago and how it was forced to rebuild after the blaze tore through its neighborhoods. With accessible writing, Smith tells the story of the disaster through various individuals who lived in and around the city. The book dives into the intrigue surrounding city officials, who received warnings from those who recognized that the city’s poor engineering would mean a fire not only possible, but actually likely to occur. Smith also includes many maps of Chicago neighborhoods before and after the fire, portraits of people involved in local government, and pictures of buildings and landscapes that were forever changed.
VERDICT Stunningly well-researched, this book fully examines a pivotal moment in Chicago’s history. Readers of Smith’s other Chicago-based books will find this fascinating. Fans of Erik Larson, American history, and the triumph of the human spirit will also greatly enjoy..

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?