MYSTERY

Butcher Pen Road

Blackstone. (Bill Maytubby and Hannah Bond, Bk. 3). Jul. 2021. 208p. ISBN 9781982689278. $25.99. M
COPY ISBN
The third in the Bill Maytubby and Hannah Bond series (following Greasy Bend) begins when a body is found on Chickasaw Nation land. Lighthorse policeman Bill Maytubby quickly determines that he does not have jurisdiction, and the case is turned over to the Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation. While Maytubby’s official involvement has ended, his curiosity and concern for the boy who found the body lead him to enlist the help of Deputy Sheriff Hannah Bond and continue his investigation. As the case moves forward, so does Maytubby’s relationship with his fiancée, Jill Milton, providing a welcome distraction from the murder. As Maytubby moves in, the killers get desperate and are willing to kill again to prevent discovery. Lackey’s mystery offers an alternative glimpse of life and police work than that of the big-city narrative so common in crime fiction, though the high-context writing can make the plot difficult to follow at times.
VERDICT A quick-read police procedural that is aided by knowledge and context of the setting while highlighting the challenges of law enforcement in rural Oklahoma. For fans of Kent Anderson, Danny Gardner, and Lisa Sandlin.
Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?