Bursts of Fire

Laksa Media. (Addicted to Heaven, Bk. 1). Aug. 2019. 394p. ISBN 9781988140117. $28; ebk. ISBN 9781988140131. FANTASY
Forest (The Dragon Prince) kicks off a projected seven-book series with the dramatic escape of three magical sisters. As daughters of the imperial magiel, Meg, Janat, and Rennika flee a luxurious life when the army of the king lays siege to their castle home. Impulsively destroying a prosperous peace, the king overruns neighboring castles, killing the magiels and smashing the prayer stones that drive their magic. The sisters are hunted for the abilities revealed in their faces. Hidden and separated, they face harsh futures. They are reunited as the commoners rise up against the king, and the king’s son, now leading the army, discovers the terrible secret that started the war. Forest depicts strong female characters, with varying motivations and personalities adding plenty of action in daring raids, battles with war machines, and magical time walking, though equal attention is given to exploring relationships between the sisters and their allies.
VERDICT This exciting new series will have fantasy fans eagerly awaiting the next installment.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month