REVIEWS+

Broken Ground

{amp}nbsp; Atlantic Monthly. (Karen Pirie, Bk. 5). Dec. 2018. 432p. ISBN 9780802129123. $26. THrIlLER
COPY ISBN
Alice Summerville and her husband travel to the Scottish Highlands in search of a legacy buried by her grandfather at the end of World War II and bequeathed to her just before his death. Aided by the property owner, they ascertain the exact location and dig into a peat bog, unearthing both the treasure and a corpse. When it's determined that the body was buried long after the end of the war, DCI Karen Pirie, head of the Historical Crimes Unit of the Edinburgh Police, is called in to catch a killer on the loose for nearly 20 years. While seeking justice for this murder, Karen must also deal with a superior with an ax to grind who has planted a mole in the unit, a cold case involving a serial rapist, and an overheard conversation that may lead to a fresh crime—all while grieving the loss of her partner.
VERDICT Prolific author McDermid (Out of Bounds) has crafted a tight police procedural with a strong female lead. While this is number five in the series, newcomers are brought up to speed. Fans of Tana French and Ian Rankin will be delighted. [See Prepub Alert, 6/10/18.]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?