ROMANCE

Boyfriend Material

Sourcebooks Casablanca. Jul. 2020. 432p. ISBN 9781728206141. pap. $14.99. CONTEMPORARY ROMANCE
COPY ISBN
Luc O’Donnell is sort of famous. The son of popular rock stars, he can’t do normal things other guys his age do—get drunk, act wild, date bad boys—without popping up in the tabloids. Never mind that he has a perfectly respectable job as a charity fundraiser. Tabloids don’t care about that. So Luc enlists his friends to find him the perfect fake boyfriend, and they deliver Oliver Blackwood. Oliver is a barrister, rather conservative, and also happens to need a fake boyfriend for his parents’ anniversary in a few weeks. As the two try to figure out how a pretend relationship works, their real lives complicate matters.
VERDICT Hall (How To Bang a Billionaire) delivers a comedic romance with a not-very-sympathetic hero who tries to be better, a sexy barrister, and a gaggle of oddball secondary characters. Fans of Casey McQuiston’s Red, White & Royal Blue may enjoy.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month