FICTION

Blue Monday

Pamela Dorman: Viking. Mar. 2012. c.336p. ISBN 9780670023363. $26.95. F
COPY ISBN
Launching a new series of psychological thrillers, French (a husband-and-wife writing team; Losing You) introduces therapist Frieda Klein, who values the privacy of her patients as much as her own. So when a new patient describes a child he longs to have and his description closely matches that of Matthew Farraday, a five-year-old boy recently abducted, Frieda is torn. Are these the imaginings of a man who is only dreaming about what might be, or are these the musings of a man who has already acted? Did he kidnap Matthew? If he did, Frieda knows she has to go to the police. What is a conscientious therapist to do?
VERDICT This is psychological suspense done right. The authors pace themselves and build the tension slowly while carefully developing each of the players. For fans of Tana French's and Lisa Gardner's moody, dark, twisty thrillers. [See Prepub Alert, 9/11/11.]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month