FICTION

Blackberry and Wild Rose

Black Stone. May 2019. 352p. ISBN 9781538507759. $27.99. F
COPY ISBN
DEBUT Velton's intriguing debut spotlights both the successes and hardships of Huguenot silk weavers in 18th-century England. Young and alone, Sara Kemp arrives in Spitalfields, London. She is soon swept away to the Wig and Feathers tavern by a forceful brothel proprietress, thus beginning a dangerous, dismal life of prostitution. Esther Thorel, the wife of one of the finest master silk weavers, offers Sara a position as lady's maid and a fresh start away from her unsavory past. Esther, a painter, longs to design silks, but her husband, Elias, dismisses her talent while resenting her barrenness and inability to provide a son to learn his trade. Enter Bisby Lambert, an exquisitely talented journeyman commissioned by Elias to weave his masterpiece on the Thorels' attic loom. As the weaving begins to take shape, the tumultuous Thorel household, full of secrets and longing, begins to unravel. The story unfolds in alternating points of view between Sara and Esther, women of vastly different circumstances who both harbor secrets.
VERDICT Fans of Tracy Chevalier and Jennifer Chiaverini will be captivated by this story for its atmospheric, historically rich drama, and forbidden romance.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month