MYSTERY

Bending the Paw

St. Martin’s. (Paw Enforcement, Bk. 9). Oct. 2020. 320p. ISBN 9781250197399. pap. $7.99. M
COPY ISBN
Officer Megan Luz and her K-9 partner, Brigit, respond to a call from Megan’s mentor, Det. Audrey Jackson. They find a Valentine’s Day Massacre amount of blood in the kitchen at the Olsen home. The frantic wife reported her husband missing, but it’s not likely he could survive if that blood was his. Brigit does what she can at the crime scene, and Megan is willing to help, but there are other crimes to investigate, including a possible scam artist contacting Fort Worth homeowners who need their roofs repaired after hailstorms. Megan and Brigit have a full agenda, and that doesn’t even include wedding plans now that Megan has agreed to “form a pack” with her firefighter boyfriend, Seth, and his bomb-sniffing dog.
VERDICT Kelly successfully combines police procedural with cozy in a mystery that has moments of humor. Readers of the previous title in the “Paw Enforcement” series, Paw of the Jungle, will be familiar with the author’s style of incorporating viewpoints from Megan, Brigit, and the primary criminal. Fans of Spencer Quinn’s “Chet and Bernie” books will enjoy Brigit’s comments and the dog-human partnership.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?