SHORT STORIES

And I Do Not Forgive You: Stories and Other Revenges

Liveright: Norton. Feb. 2020. 192p. ISBN 9781631496202. $23.95. F
COPY ISBN
Irreverent and clever characters take center stage in Sparks’s latest collection (May We Shed These Human Bodies). The pieces here are beyond the classification of any one genre, borrowing from fairy tales, fantasy, coming-of-age, modern life, and social commentary. In “Everyone’s a Winner at Meadow Park,” a teenage girl navigates life in a suburban trailer park, while haunted by the ghost of a boring pioneer girl. In “Is the Future a Nice Place for Girls,” an ominous and anarchic future threatens a castle. “Our Geographic History” chronicles the demise of a relationship through Midwestern cities and existential locations. Zeus is a stereotypical modern dad in the sketch “In Which Athena Designs a Video Game with the Express Purpose of Trolling her Father.” In “When the Husband Grew Wings,” a dull husband grows wings after his wife sprinkles a mysterious powder on his cornflakes. Does he notice?
VERDICT Each story is vivid, unexpected, and satisfyingly weird. Darkly comic and whip-smart, this collection is recommended for readers of Aimee Bender and Alexandra Kleeman.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.