MYSTERY

An Unsettled Grave

Kensington. (Santero & Rein, Bk. 2). Aug. 2019. 288p. ISBN 9781496717252. $26; ebk. ISBN 9781496717269. THRILLER
COPY ISBN
When a rape victim says her attacker was a police officer, Carrie Santero, the youngest, least experienced, and first female detective in Vieira County, PA, doesn’t handle the case with kid gloves. She’s sent to assist a police chief in the western part of the state, where a small human foot was found buried in the woods. Her mentor, Jacob Rein, won’t tell her why he can’t get involved, but he points her in the right direction. Thirty years earlier, when Hope Pugh went missing, she was a friend of the young Jacob. His uncle was the police chief in the area. None of the earlier records are easily available, and nobody’s telling the truth about the multiple deaths that occurred in one week in the area. Alternating sections of the book flash back to that pivotal week, revealing a story of violence and vengeance.
VERDICT The author’s knowledge and experience as a police officer give this thriller verisimilitude. Although the story bogs down in the middle, the characters of Santero and Rein in this sequel to The Thief of All Light are intriguing. Readers might want to pick up the first in the series for background. Fans of Alex Kava and Meg Gardiner will appreciate the procedural details.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.