SOCIAL SCIENCES
An Unexplained Death: The True Story of a Body at the Belvedere
Holt. Nov. 2018. 288p. photos. notes. ISBN 9781250169143. $28; ebk. ISBN 9781250169150. CRIME
COPY ISBN
Brottman's (humanities, Maryland Inst. Coll. of Art; The Maximum Security Book Club) interesting ideas and thoughts form an inconsistent narrative that jumps from hotel history to unsolved mystery to memoir and back again. The author starts with her discovery of a missing-persons poster and from there becomes not obsessed (she makes this clear) but devoted to seeking of the truth about the disappearance of Rey Rivera, who was found dead on the property of the historic Belvedere Hotel. The police rule it a suicide, but Brottman keeps digging, uncovering a potential conspiracy involving corporate fraud, millionaires, and warnings. Throughout the investigation, she sprinkles in her own reservations about her ability to be socially invisible to others, and how the Belvedere has a long history of suicides, some questionable.
VERDICT Both true crime and hotel history, this book would have benefitted from concentrating purely on either the disappearance of Rivera or the hotel. For fans of James Renner's True Crime Addict and Walter Kirn's Blood Will Out.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.