MYSTERY

A Murder for the Books: A Blue Ridge Library Mystery

Crooked Lane. Dec. 2017. 336p. ISBN 9781683314394. $26.99; pap. ISBN 9781683316077. $15.99; ebk. ISBN 9781683314400 M
COPY ISBN
Fleeing a disastrous relationship, Amy Webber quits her academic library job and moves to historic Taylorsford, VA, where she becomes the director of the local library. Its archives attract a number of visitors, including Amy's handsome new neighbor Richard Muir, who is researching the dark past of the farmhouse he inherited from his great-uncle. It also draws in a killer, who leaves the body of a local resident for Amy and Richard to discover. As they probe the murder, the pair decide to investigate further the mountain community's local history of old crimes. But someone wants to keep the past buried.
VERDICT This debut mystery and series launch by a former librarian is an intriguing cozy that combines historical tidbits, a taste of the supernatural, a budding romance, and humor. Fans of Miranda James and Jenn McKinlay will welcome a new librarian sleuth to the fold.

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month