FICTION

A Death in Eden: A Sean Stranahan Mystery

Viking. Jul. 2018. 320p. ISBN 9780525557531. $26; ebk. ISBN 9780525557548. MYS
COPY ISBN
The setting for the seventh installment of this outdoors series (after The Royal Wulff Murders) is the Smith River of central Montana. Home to spectacular scenery and world-class trout fishing, the river is at the center of a debate about a proposed copper mine that could negatively impact the purity of the water and damage the ecosystem. Sean Stranahan guides a float trip that includes both the leading opponent and the proponent of the mine and a documentary filmmaker to record their conversations. Also on the river is Sean's friend Harold Little Feather, who is investigating the appearance of scarecrows and antimine slogans posted along the waterway. Award-winning author McCafferty, who is also editor of Field and Stream, adroitly intertwines the stories of Sean and Harold as they, along with Sheriff Martha Ettinger, seek to discover the identity of a headless man found floating in the water, locate the creator of the scarecrows, find Harold's son who disappeared while enjoying the river, and determine how a vengeful and dangerous man who has been poaching bears in Yellowstone National Park figures into the overall scheme of events.
VERDICT Fans of C.J. Box and Craig Johnson will relish this page-turner. [See Prepub Alert, 1/8/18.]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month