AUDIO

A Death in Eden

8 CDs. Recorded Bks. Aug. 2018. 9:45 hrs. ISBN 9781501992247. $102.75. digital download. F
COPY ISBN
There's a war going on in Montana between copper-mining supporters and the antimining "Save the Smith River" protest group. "Scarecrows" with meat faces are appearing along the Smith River, with "Not on my watch" chalked on neighboring cliffs. Former undercover state investigator Harold Little Feather is brought in to investigate. Meanwhile, PI Sean Stranahan has been hired to guide TV host Lilian Cartright and her subjects miner Clint McCaine and environmentalist Burt Trueblood downriver. Soon bodies start turning up, while Harold and his son Marcus seem to have disappeared. Is it all related to the mining conflict, or is something else going on? While the setting is wonderful, the convoluted plot, constant switching among points of view, and the large number of major characters can be confusing, especially since the author seems to prefer description to dialog. Even Rick Holmes's clear, spare delivery isn't enough to disentangle the redundant plot tangents and sort out the personalities.
VERDICT Despite the title's shortcomings, this may be enjoyed by some fans of mysteries that take place in natural settings. ["Fans of C.J. Box and Craig Johnson will relish this page-turner": LJ Xpress Reviews 5/25/18 review of the Viking hc.]—I. Pour-El, Des Moines Area Technical Coll., Boone, IA

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.