AUDIO

Barracoon: The Story of the Last "Black Cargo."

Barracoon: The Story of the Last "Black Cargo." 3 CDs. Harper Audio. May 2018. 3:49 hrs. ISBN 9781538519295. $22.99. digital download. BIOG
COPY ISBN
OrangeReviewStarVersatile, seasoned narrator Robin Miles is as comfortable narrating literary historic context as she is effortlessly adopting the vernacular patois of an octogenarian former slave. Published almost 90 years after its completion, Hurston's (Their Eyes Were Watching God) presentation of Oluale Kossula, the last survivor of the final U.S. slave ship Clotilda, appears now with an illuminating introduction by scholar Deborah G. Plant. Kossula was enslaved in 1860 at 19 for five years and renamed Cudjo Lewis; her experiences after emancipation continued to be difficult and tragic. Hurston's interviews became a delicate process requiring multiple visits from New York to Alabama over four years, punctuated by shared peaches, watermelons, ham, and blue crab. With patient tenacity, Hurston immortalizes Kossula's words into cultural, anthropological, historical, and political testimony; Miles ensures readers will faithfully and accurately hear every word. That said, missing on audio is Alice Walker's foreword, which is included in print; Walker is credited with posthumously elevating Hurston from obscurity.
VERDICT Libraries will want to enhance availability of this best seller by providing easy access to Miles's superb performance. ["A brief book that tells a significant story; for fans of Hurston and African American and world history": LJ 5/1/18 review of the Amistad: HarperCollins hc.]

Be the first reader to comment.

Comment Policy:
  • Be respectful, and do not attack the author, people mentioned in the article, or other commenters. Take on the idea, not the messenger.
  • Don't use obscene, profane, or vulgar language.
  • Stay on point. Comments that stray from the topic at hand may be deleted.
  • Comments may be republished in print, online, or other forms of media.
  • If you see something objectionable, please let us know. Once a comment has been flagged, a staff member will investigate.


RELATED 

TOP STORIES

LIBRARY EDUCATION

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COMMUNITY FORM

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

COLLECTION DEVELOPMENT

Kids are using VR to explore worlds and create new ones

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.