Viking

43 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

The Last Kings of Shanghai: The Rival Jewish Dynasties That Helped Create Modern China

This bold blend of personal and political history will reward enthusiastic readers for their time.

Union: The Struggle To Forge the Story of United States Nationhood

Woodard is a gifted historiographer, and this excellent work will be appreciated by anyone interested in American history and how it came to be written.

Cult of Glory: The Bold and Brutal History of the Texas Rangers

In an era in which some desire a return to a perceived greatness, books like this remind us greatness is often reliant on the selective memory of storytellers.

Love

Doyle’s latest novel (after Smile) brilliantly highlights his ear for speech, especially the recursive fluency of inebriation. Narrated by Davy, this novel is a tough and tender celebration of the complexities of authentic friendship, as well as the ephemeral nature of memory. [See Prepub Alert, 12/2/19.]

PREMIUM

Atomic Spy: The Dark Lives of Klaus Fuchs

Thoroughly supported by a wide array of archival research, Greenspan’s detailed and authoritative yet equally interesting and readable study will appeal to readers of World War II and Cold War history, espionage, and nuclear history.
PREMIUM

The Unidentified: Mythical Monsters, Alien Encounters, and Our Obsession with the Unexplained

As a fascinating blend of history and the strangeness of human nature, this book will appeal to readers interested in the sociological aspects of popular folklore.
PREMIUM

The Cubans: Ordinary Lives in Extraordinary Times

Overall, a rich, intimate, evenhanded narrative that reveals the Cuban people’s resilience and resourcefulness amid oppression.

 
PREMIUM

The Lucky Star

This novel is premised on a powerful notion of a love magic that is severely tested in a laboratory of desperate human desire; highly recommended for those who like the scenic route home.

A Thousand Moons

A poetic sensibility runs through this luminous novel of sorrow and uplift by the Booker-nominated, multi-award-winning Barry. Highly recommended. [See Prepub Alert, 10/7/19.]

Community matters. Stay up to date on breaking news, trends, reviews, and more.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month

Like this premium article? Subscribe to LJ and get all of our premium content at your fingertips for 12 months.