Viking

24 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Hood Feminism: Notes from the Women That a Movement Forgot

A frank account of who and what is still missing from mainstream feminism that will appeal to readers of women’s and African American studies, and readers seeking a better grasp on history.
PREMIUM

Pretty As a Picture

Little (Dear Daughter) once again delivers a dark, witty thriller. Movie fans will be delighted with the behind-the-scenes setting and the numerous cinematic references. While there are some twists, this character-driven whodunit is mainly propelled by Marissa, an intelligent, charming protagonist whose neurodiversity is well portrayed. Recommended for mystery fans drawn to amateur sleuths and quirky, realistic protagonists.
PREMIUM

The Sweetest Fruits

Containing minimal dialog, this work is rich in descriptive detail that some readers will enjoy, though others who prefer more character-driven interaction may be daunted. Nevertheless, those who follow the work through to the end will discover three fascinating women whose stories clarify the life of a man just as remarkable in his time. [See Prepub Alert, 3/11/19.]

Love Unknown: The Life and Worlds of Elizabeth Bishop

This definitive account of Bishop’s contributions to American letters will attract both casual readers of her poetry as well as academics with more specialized knowledge of her work.

Know My Name: A Memoir

A much-needed memoir giving voice to those who must be heard. Miller’s writing stands apart.
PREMIUM

A Pilgrimage to Eternity: From Canterbury to Rome in Search of a Faith

Readers with interest in the history of Christianity, theology, or apologetics will find this book useful.
PREMIUM

Leadership in War: Essential Lessons from Those Who Made History

Roberts briefly distills conservative views on what it takes to be a leader, producing an extremely readable, if sometimes simplified, summation of this aspect of military history. For public libraries and larger academic collections.
PREMIUM

Human Compatible: Artificial Intelligence and the Problem of Control

Russell has created the right guide at the right time for technology enthusiasts seeking to explore the primary concepts of what makes AI valuable while simultaneously examining the disconcerting aspects of AI misuse.

The Giver of Stars

Rich in history, with well-developed characters and a strong sense of place, this book will fit well in any library’s fiction collection. For fans of Sara Gruen’s Water for Elephants or Catherine Marshall’s Christy. [See Prepub Alert, 4/15/19; “Fall Fireworks,” LJ 8/19.]

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month