Soho Crime

10 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

The Prodigal Daughter

Harrison follows Not of This Fold with a believable story about teen runaways, violence, sexual assault, and her ongoing examination of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. While the ending might not satisfy some readers, it is realistic. Readers of Betty Webb’s books may want to try this series.

The Sleeping Nymph

This engrossing mystery blends psychological tension with exceptional detective work and features flawed yet appealing characters whose dogged pursuit of the murderer keeps them from focusing too closely on their personal struggles. All this, combined with Oklap’s fluid translation, make this a solid mystery pick for fans of Jussi Adler-Olsen and Elizabeth George.
PREMIUM

Murder in Chianti

Trinchieri (Seeking Alice) has incorporated all the elements mystery fans could want in this Italy-set whodunit: eccentric villagers who quote Dante, delectable descriptions of Italian cuisine, endless glasses of wine, and a thoroughly gripping mystery. Recommended for libraries where mysteries set in Italy are popular. [See Prepub Alert, 1/22/20.]

Three Hours in Paris

Black’s fans will not be disappointed, and readers who enjoy Alan Furst and John Le Carré will join the crowd that will devour this must-read. [See Prepub Alert, 9/30/19.]
PREMIUM

The Missing American

This promising series debut from the acclaimed Quartey (“Darko Dawson” mysteries) introduces the formidable Emma, and most important, the culture and politics of Ghana. Recommended for readers of mystery, African American and African fiction, and international crime/mystery. [See Prepub Alert, 7/8/19.]
PREMIUM

Winter Grave

A solid purchase for collections in which Nordic noir circulates regularly, though Tursten’s novels aren’t nearly as bleak or as humorless as others in the genre. [See Prepub Alert, 6/3/19.]

Sarah Jane

Sallis (Drive) has a quiet way of narrating a powerful story of accidents and death. The lyrical language and ambiguous ending is reminiscent of the best of Craig Johnson’s “Longmire” stories.

PREMIUM

When Hell Struck Twelve

The action starts on the first page and doesn’t slow down, unfortunately sacrificing backstory in the process. Readers of World War II fiction and those who enjoy plot-driven stories will find much to love; however, Benn assumes a level of war knowledge that might leave some readers frustrated and confused. Purchase where previous volumes circulate, but new readers should start with the first in the series, Billy Boyle.
PREMIUM

Murder in Bel-Air

Readers will enjoy the exciting trip through Paris and the colorful characters who turn up along the way in this latest page-turner from Black that will make readers want to hop the next flight to the City of Light. [See Prepub Alert, 12/17/18.]
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?