Riverhead

22 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates
PREMIUM

Real Life

...

How Much of These Hills Is Gold

This moving tale of family, gold, and freedom rings with a truth that defies rosy preconceptions. The description of human and environmental degradation is balanced by shining characters who persevere greatly. Highly recommended. [See Prepub Alert, 10/7/19.]
PREMIUM

Verge

A dark and often unsettling collection that some readers will find difficult but that will reward those seeking fierce, intimate writing. [See Prepub Alert, 8/5/19.]

Deacon King Kong

Much is unpacked by the time the book reaches its lovely and heartfelt climax, as McBride shows what can happen when people set aside their differences. Highly recommended, especially for fans of Jacqueline Woodson and Spike Lee. [See Prepub Alert, 9/9/19.]
PREMIUM

The Scientist and the Spy: A True Story of China, the FBI, and Industrial Espionage

This engaging book has something for everyone; it can be read as a spy thriller, an examination of U.S.-China relations, or a case study of agricultural espionage.
PREMIUM

Blue Flowers

One of Granta’s Best of Young Brazilian Writers, Saavedra has produced an intense, beautifully nuanced examination of obsessive love gone seriously wrong and the psychological roadblocks that stand in the way of healing, though an abrupt, ambiguous ending may unsettle some readers.
PREMIUM

Humble Pi: When Math Goes Wrong in the Real World

A clever, amusing book about some of life’s more serious problems; highly recommended.

Long Bright River

In her fourth novel (following The Unseen World), Rome Prize–winning author Moore blends the reality of today’s deadly opioid crisis with a complicated family dynamic to create an intense mystery with stunning twists and turns. Impossible to put down, impossible to forget. [See Prepub Alert, 7/1/19.]

Red at the Bone

An aching story of family and class, ambition and gentrification, sexual desire and what motherhood really means, rendered in beautifully precise language. [See Prepub Alert, 3/4/19.]

Get connected. Join our global community of more than 200,000 librarians and educators.

Get access to 8000+ annual reviews of books, ebooks, and more

As low as $13.50/month