Orbit

12 Articles

Last 30 days
Last 6 months
Last 12 months
Last 24 months
Specific Dates

King of the Rising

The second half of this duology (after The Queen of the Conquered) is a powerful look at colonialism, oppression, and rebellion, and all that it can cost the individuals involved.

Nophek Gloss

Hansen’s marvelous debut is a fast-paced, action-filled ride through the multiverse, introducing a complex found family of gender- and neurodiverse characters.

The Ikessar Falcon

Political intrigue and personal angst abound in this exciting sequel to The Wolf of Oren-Yaro, making this a must for epic fantasy readers.

Dead Man in a Ditch

Arnold’s (The Last Smile in Sunder City) universe has everything, including the angst of being human. The perfect story for adult fantasy fans—a tough PI and a murder mystery wrapped around the mysticism of Hogwarts, sprinkled with faerie dust.

The Fires of Vengeance

Winter takes all the intense emotion and action of The Rage of Dragons—and exceeds it. The book will be impossible to put down and readers will wait anxiously for the final volume.
PREMIUM

How To Rule an Empire and Get Away with It

Parker’s (Sixteen Ways To Defend a Walled City) latest epic fantasy proves that all the world is, indeed, a stage, and Parker himself is a master impresario. Readers will enjoy his comedic take on how politics are comprised of equal parts lies, incompetence, and the foolishness of humanity—with just enough flashes of brilliance to save the day. Recommended for fans of Terry Pratchett and Mary Gentle’s Grunts.

The Bone Shard Daughter

Stewart’s richly told, emotional, action-laced debut lays bare themes of autonomy, control, and the seeds of revolution that come from desiring a new way of life. Readers will finish this eager for the follow-up.

Goldilocks

Smooth prose weaves a tale to support humanity’s survival, along with the shades of gray of scientific decisions. Lam’s (Seven Devils) exciting sf thriller proves intellectual and entertaining for all.

PREMIUM

Rule

Miller’s conclusion to her French Revolution–inspired fantasy trilogy is filled with politics, ambitions, hope, and betrayal. Themes of immigration, women’s lives and rights, and democracy are woven into a delightfully intricate prose tapestry.
ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?

We are currently offering this content for free. Sign up now to activate your personal profile, where you can save articles for future viewing

ALREADY A SUBSCRIBER?